What is a Process Server?

Process Servers in the Fifteenth Judicial Circuit are certified by the Chief Judge and the program is administered by the Administrative Office of the Court. Certified Process Servers are permitted to serve initial non-enforceable civil process within the Fifteenth Judicial Circuit (Palm Beach County). Civil process provides notice to defendants that a judicial action or proceeding has been initiated. Names of current certified process servers are included in an approved list maintained by the Fifteenth Judicial Circuit. Certified Process Servers are required to exercise due diligence while effecting service and to comply with related rules and statutes.

Why do papers need to be officially served?

 Official service of a summons and a copy of your complaint or petition are necessary to start a legal action by giving the other side formal notice that there is a lawsuit filed against them. After serving the other parties in your civil case, the process server files a return of service form with the Court so that the judge will know service has been performed according to the law. Civil process servers can also serve subpoenas (orders to appear in court or produce documents) and other legal notices and may be called upon to testify in Court if there is a question about proper service. All parties requesting service of process should be aware of the proper and legal service required in the legal proceeding. 


 Fee for the Service of Process vary based on the allotted time in which the document are to be served, location in which these documents must be served, and/or whether or not the services can be done in one visit or done with several visits. 

What is a Notary Public?

 A Notary Public is a state public officer appointed and commissioned by the Governor whose function is to: administer oaths, take acknowledgments of deeds and other instruments, attest to or certify photocopies of certain documents, and perform other duties specified by law.  Notaries are authorized by law to perform six basic duties:

  1. Administer oaths or affirmations
  2. Take acknowledgements
  3. Attest to photocopies of certain documents
  4. Solemnize marriages
  5. Verify vehicle identification numbers (VINs)
  6. Certify the contents of safe deposit boxes

Find out more